Deutschland

by monicasjungle

Image

The Salinas family just took a much needed trip to Deutschland to visit family. Unfortunately, my beloved uncle, Georg Weiss, had passed away five weeks ago on 3/4/12. His death was sudden and unexpected, and I have yet to wrap my mind around the ‘why’. The only comfort that I hold is that he knew I loved him and I know that he loved me.

But life goes on for the living, and so we went.

Here we were at Schloss Heidenheim (castle Heidenheim), with 2 cold and tired boys.

Image

Image

We also took a trip to Legoland, which Magglio LOVED!

Image

And walking with Oma at Legoland:

Image

And at the WAY over priced gift shop:

Image

And then we had some family time. On the couch are my Oma, my two lovely cousins, Julia and Carina, and their boyfriends Dustin and Robin. My Aunt Lynn Ann is standing far right and I am slumped in the chair.

Image

And my aunt Hilde, with Erica on the right:

Image

My cousin Stefi and my sister Erica:

Image

We kicked around the soccer ball a bit in the sun.

Image

And we were cold but warm at heart:

Image

We took a day trip to a lovely little traditional German town, whose name I can’t recall right now.

Image

Image

And I have to say that somehow Edgar and I managed not to kill each other – between the cold and raining temperatures, Edgar and Tiago being sick with horrible head colds, a TEN HOUR plane ride, and adjusting to a six hour time difference. Our boys did wonderfully – they were super well behaved, charmed the pants off of our family, did a great job meeting new people, playing and sleeping and in general were good sports. Overall it was a wonderful trip and I’m so, so happy to have seen my family – minus one amazing and terrific man who was so much more than an uncle.

So I leave it here, Onkle Georg may you rest in peace. Ich leibe dich und ich vermisse dich.

