Starting Solids

by monicasjungle

At Magglio’s 4 month appt, his pediatrician reccomended starting solids.  I was a little nervous at first, only because I was worried it would effect our nursing relationship.  I was (and still am) afraid it would lean to weaning.  But curiosity got the better of me, and a few weeks ago I started mixing rice cereal with expressed breastmilk and serving it to Magglio a few hours before bedtime.  He loved it!  He giggled and smiled throughout the whole feed.  Ok, Magglio, I can take a hint.  You’re ready for more solids, aren’t you?  

Yesterday at the grocery store, I picked up some stage 1 baby food – carrots and sweet potatoes.  Today was his first day of carrots.  Here’s how it went….

At first, Magglio was confused.  What in the heck is this stuff?

Magglio 5 months 019

But after he warmed up to the taste, and it was back to his happy, bubbly self:

Magglio 5 months 020

 

In related news, Magglio is now sitting up by himself.  I am so proud of him.

Magglio 5 months 013

Such a strong boy! 

Edgar put a cartoon on the laptop the other day, and Magglio thought it was the neatest thing ever.

Magglio 5 months 002

 

We’re still waiting on teeth, but I bet they’ll break through within the next month or so.  I found a pediatrician here in Miami Beach and made an appointment for June.  I can’t wait for Mr. Charming himself to romance her with his cute little smile.  After all, his middle name is Romeo.  🙂

