Magglio’s Birth Story

by monicasjungle

I’ve been meaning to post our birth story for awhile, but I always have more urgent things to tend to, like nursing Magglio, burping Magglio, changing diapers, showering and sleeping.  (Eh, who am I kidding?  I haven’t showered in days.)

Saturday December 13th – I woke up and noticed that I was losing my mucus plug and had bloody show.  These are positive early labor signs.  I called my midwife and doula to put them both on alert, just in case.  Knowing that I’d be laid up for awhile, I decided to do some last minute cleaning.  I scrubbed the stove.  I cleaned the bathroom.  I did some laundry. 

Finally, my contractions started at about 2pm.  I still had laundry to finish and I wanted to vacuum.  Edgar was home with me, but he had to leave for work.  “Are you sure you don’t want me to stay home with you?”  He asked, knowing that this was IT.

But being stubborn Monica, I shooed him off.  I knew that if he were home, I’d be too focused on him and my contractions and not on finishing laundry, which at the time seemed SO IMPORTANT.  “I’ll call you at work when I need you to come home,”  I promised.  Reluctantly, he agreed to go.  He left at 3pm.  My contractions were 5 minutes apart.  

I finished the laundry.  I called my mom.  “Buy your ticket,”  I told her.  I had a few more conversations with my midwife and doula.  My contractions picked up.  I knew I needed Edgar back home, so I called him at work.  It was only 4:15!  His boss answered the phone.  I identified myself, and his boss got excited, “Are you having the baby?”  He asked.  “Yes, I am.” I replied.

With Edgar on his way home, I jumped in the bathtub and turned off the lights.  I stayed there in the darkness until he got home.  The warm water was soothing, the darkness safe.  Edgar came in and kneeled next to me.  We chatted in soft voices and timed my contractions.  My wonderful husband kept telling me how beautiful I looked, how strong I was.  He kept kissing my hands and splashing water on my belly.  The moment was beautiful, loving and spiritual.  I attribute our close connection to why everything suddenly picked up so quickly…  

I shouldn’t have gotten out of the tub, but for some stupid reason, I did.  I walked around, ate some chicken, had some heavy contractions and breathed through them.  Things were getting intense.  I got back in the tub.  At 8pm we decided to go to the hospital.   

Edgar grabbed his coat and the hospital bag while I had contraction after contraction.  They were back-to-back now, which isn’t a good thing if you’re not planning on having a home birth and you live about 10 minutes away from the hospital.  I couldn’t even imagine getting into a taxi at that moment.  What if I had the baby in the cab?  But somehow, I marched out of our aparment and jumped into that cab like I wasn’t in the middle of birthing a baby.  That poor taxi driver!  He knew what was up.  Especially after I had two contractions in the cab.  Yeah, he knew.

We got to the hospital and my midwife checked my dilation.  I was NINE CENTIMETERS dilated.  For those of you who don’t know, ten centimeters is completely open, when you start to push the baby out.  I was cutting it close!  (but honestly, that’s how I wanted it.)

I remember my midwife walking us past the nurses’ station and proudly announcing, “She’s already at 9cm.”  I felt pretty proud of myself, too.

After about an hour, I had fully dilated and begn to push.  Since Magglio was such a big baby, he took his sweet time coming down the birth canal, causing mommy a lot of pain and agony.  I pushed and I pushed for 3 hours.  I was so tired!  Edgar was next to me, like a good birth coach, telling me how strong I was.  Again, his words gave me the strength and encouragement that I needed. 

I remember looking at the clock at about 12:30am.  I remember thinking, in an odd moment of clarity: “I’m NOT going to do this for more than half an hour.”  I was near the point of giving up.  I needed to have this baby.  Now. 

Thankfully, Magglio arrived at 1am.  My big beautiful boy!

