Oh, Baby

by monicasjungle

There are these devices that you can purchase that monitor fetal heartbeats. I ordered one online last week and got it in the mail yesterday. The first thing I did when I got home from work was squirt the gel on my belly and go to town with my heartbeat machine.

It took awhile, but after some vigourus searching …. thud thud …. and there it was, my 12 week old fetus’s heartbeat.

Edgar and I looked at each other, wide-eyed and speechless. It was so promising, so perfect, that we were both afraid to exhale for fear of losing the sound.

Thud thud. Thud thud, thud thud, thud thud. Steady. Growing. Real.

And then in a rush of emotions, we both sqealed with delight, sloppy grins on our faces, giggling and laughing at the miracle in my belly. We began asking it questions like, “which name do you like better, baby?” And, “when are we going to hit the lotto, baby?”

And the baby’s heart continued to beat on, perhaps as excited as we were, or maybe rolling his/her baby eyes at our rash display of excitement.

